The 1927 Denton Firehouse was the epitome of the bygone era of a true “community project”. Based on newspaper reports of the times, virtually every family in the town or vicinity voluntarily contributed money for its construction. In 1954 its size was doubled and in the 1970s the lower front was converted for Town government use.
Recently abandoned by the Town due to structural problems, the Society is seeking to have the 1927 firehouse, the oldest in Caroline, restored to its classic 1927 exterior. The multi-phase project will use the interior for educational purposes related to the unique heritage and national significance of Caroline County on subjects from agriculture to military service to Indians.
This photo c. 1927 shows original truck doors to be reinstalled and façade to be restored.